The Dream and the Dragon part four

*Apparently some of you are enjoying this, so here is more to the epic poem I’ve been writing on Facebook. Enjoy! :D*

The boy climbed off the horse and entered the cave once more
To which the boy was met with a roar
A roar so deep it shook the ground
A roar so loud it left his confidence unwound
Still the boy could subtly creep
To the place where the dragon did sleep
The dragon continued is gruesome howl
Any same fellow would have ran by now
Back to the graces of their fathers arm
Yet the boy knew he’d come to no harm
Not a hair would be misplaced on his head
Although deep in his heart he truly did dread
The boy felt there was something behind
The dragon’s cries yet to find
Some deep pain the beast did veil
Powered its fearsome wail
Soon the boy was in front of the colossus
And the dragon stopped with this fuss
The flames licked at the rocky wall
The dragon shifted and uttered a call
“Tell me boy did you find the parchment of mermaid bone?”
The boy reached round and the treasure was shown
The dragon gave a growl of wonder and awe
“I tell you boy you are the bravest I saw
Knights and warriors from across the land
Came to me for reasons even they could not understand
They came for castles, they came for gold
They came so they would never grow old
They came with weapons of blood and war
To steal their prize with my blood on the floor
They wanted answers just like you
Frankly I figured you a fool like them too
Someone who wished to rule me with power
Or someone who’s confidence would prove to sour
In the face of danger and peril
All for the sake of your supposed dream girl
Truly boy you are quite rare
Dashing into whatever I dare.”
“I will do all this and more,” said the strong boy
“The answer to my query would bring me joy
The tasks may be daunting at hand
Yet I am struggling to understand
Why does the creature of such power and strength
He someone else to go to such lengths?”
The dragon nodded it serpentine head
And groaned a groan filled with dread
As if it felt the question was coming
The dragon settled into the Earth as if its nerves were numbing
“All magic I’m afraid comes with a price
Much of it is at great sacrifice
I have no idea how long I’ve been down here
Driving on the common folks’ fear
I do know however the magic’s law
And why knights continue to fall
I know that magic can turn paupers to kings
And magic can turn the most stunning jewel into an awful thing.”
Against his better judgment boy had to ask
“Before I set out on to my next task
Dear dragon were you such a jewel
Those scars given by a fool
Who didn’t see your inner light
And now you’re in this sorry plight?”
The dragon shunned away from the question
“When will you learn your lesson
You have a task, a girl at hand
I need you to fully understand
The burden of what has happened to me
Is a load that I alone must carry
Listen close and listen true
Ask me again and I will eat you.”
The boy did hush his traitorous mouth
“Now you need to head down south
For the task you shall approach next
The item I need is the feather of a phoenix
The fiery foul who is reborn
Who resides within the land of Cloobadorn
Where danger hides and lays unseen
Hopefully you will not see what I mean.”
That’s what the dragon said through its smoky snout
With a respectful bow the boy set out
To a land he knew nothing of
All in the name of his dream girl’s love
The love of a girl who may not exist
But whose soul did certainly fit
Into the hollow cracks of his broken heart
Someone he swore he’d never part
Yet his mind was still on the dragon
More than he could ever imagine
For a boy such as he to think of this fear monger
And yearn for its presence ever the longer
Was frankly quite strange, a little bit weird
Something he’d never understand even when there was white in his beard
The boy reached his steed and they set off to the west
The task at hand he would do his best
Quick rushed forward like a born champion
As if his new life were about to begin
The boy was thankful for the horse’s emergence
Ready in his heart to find what he was up against
Quick ran through the day and night
With his rider left to hang on tight
As the sun stretched awake like a shining newborn
The duo was ushered into Cloobadorn
A grassy flat land that went on for miles
And stony mountains carved into grizzly smiles
Along the ground ran a sparkling stream
The boy hopped off Quick and let the equine drink to his dream
The boy looked on not knowing where to begin
There was nothing around much to his chagrin
No turmoil, nor trouble, no sort of distress
Not a fiery feathery sight of the fabled phoenix
The boy wandered out into the middle of the field
Still nothing positive did it yield
Not a soul was in this hallowed land
Of the sky he began to demand
“Who did I anger to bring me such woe
I have gone where the dragon instructed me to go
For a task I have been given to complete
And I shall not accept defeat
But instead I find nothing here
No task at hand or beast to fear
I shall not go back with empty hand
From this earth I do demand
To bring me a phoenix of ash and fire
For that is what I require
A fiery feather from its back
So bring me that which I lack
Show me the legendary bird
Do it now and heed my word!”
That’s what he said and the world did quake
Violent and horrible, fissure it did make
Long and deep with no explanation why
And all of a sudden the stream went dry
From behind him Quick gave a neigh
While the boy tried to steady his sway
The mountains trembled and began to ascend
A reason why the boy couldn’t comprehend
The boy scratched and rubbed his tired eyes
Yet the mountain did continue to rise
Underneath the mounts was a mass of ground
From that ground came a horrible sound
A wailing moan of deep remorse
From a yet unseen source
The world seemed to quake from the sound so guttural
So filled with pity and truly miserable
Then the mountains began to turn
And soon the boy would truly learn
Where the sound did come from
Although the answer would leave him numb
The mountains continued to turn and climb upward
The sight left the boy with nary a word
For there was a face fixed in a scowl
Making its home a fixture in the cloud
Pearl eyes blinked away the dirt and sod
The boy thought he had stumbled upon a lost god
A giant fist rose high to blackout the sun
Every instinct in the boy told him to run
But he was frozen in place whether from foolishness or fear
“WHO DARES COMES HERE?”
Came a booming monotone
Then down went the fist of granite and stone
The jolt lifted the boy off of his feet
High enough to believe his maker he would meet
He landed on the ground flat on his spine
No time to whimper, no time to whine
The giant’s clenched fist came towards him at a cheetah’s crawl
Leaving the boy with little time to stall
Only time to quickly react with a bound
Out of the way before he was ground
Under the hand of such a creature
Being flattened would not be a feature
To have befall his youthful frame
Certainly not the reason he came
“SPEAK NOW YOU INSOLENT NAÏVE
ANSWER THE QUESTION I GAVE.”
The boy stood up with a puffed up chest
“I’m afraid I shall not rest
Until I have a bird of fire
I will not be made a liar
To the dragon or the girl of my dream
I will prove much more than I seem
When I come back with a feather from the bird so fiery
So tell me giant where the phoenix might be.”
The giant harrumphed which caused a harsh breeze
It did nothing to put the boy’s heart as ease
With a bellow the giant said with desperate rage
“THEN IT IS A WAR YOU WISH TO WAGE.”
The giant opened its mighty mitt
The boy was stunned to find it was lit
By a fowl with feathers of orange and white flame
Exactly the reason for which he came
Fiery feathers so hot, so bright
And just like that it was out of his sight
As the giant did close his fist
Now the giant contained what the boy wished
To have in his possession
But to gain it he would need a session
Of fisticuffs and warring battle
Unless there was a fine line to straddle
The behemoth launched a howl to the cloud
A howl, a howl quite awfully loud
“THE LIGHT IS MINE AND MINE ALONE
I UNDERSTAND THE LIGHT IT HAS SHONE
TO TAKE IT FROM ME WOULD LEAVE ME DARK
KEEP ME TO A LONELINESS MUCH TOO STARK
I REFUSE TO BE ALONE AGIN
SO IF YOU WISH LET THE BATTLE BEGIN!”
Just like that the giant was braced for war
A war that would leave the boy a pool of gore
The boy did his best to try and muster
Enough strength for his courage not to bluster
In the face of what was sure to be a grind
When a stray thought did cross his mind
The words came, sounding just right
“Tell me, why do you settle for such a small light?
You by far are the biggest thing I’ve seen
And I feel that you are much too keen
To fight for such a small token
For that you would not have awoken
So why fight for this small bird
I shall not strike you have my word
That what the boy said, then lowering his clenched hand
The giant slowly seemed to understand
It suddenly appeared to be less tense
Which was something to see on a being so immense
The giant’s arms began to slack
The sky rumbled as the giant gave a groan
“ I’M TIRED OF BEING ALONE
TO BE FORGOTTEN NIGHT AND DAY
HOPING FOR ANYONE AT ALL TO STAY
NOTHING AT ALL CAN COMPARE TO MY SIZE
THAT IS UNTIL YOU WITNESS THE SKIES
THE ONLY THING ABOVE MY HEAD
WHERE MY DREAMS WERE TO BE LED
I TRIED TO CAPTURE SUN AND MOON EACH
ONLY TO FIND THEM FAR, FAR OUT OF REACH
I CLUTCHED THE CLOUDS, THROUGH MY FINGERS THEY SLIP
AND INDEED MY CONFIDENCE DID BEGIN TO DIP
FEELING AS THOUGH I WAS NEVER MEANT
TO HAVE THE ORBS WHICH HEAVEN SENT
SOON I STOPPED BOTHERING TO TRY
ALONE WAS HOW I WAS MEANT TO DIE
WHEN THIS BIRD FLEW STRAIGHT MY WAY
LIKE A TINY SUN DURING THE DAY
THOUGHT TO MYSELF I’D LIKE TO CATCH A GLIMMER
OF THE FOWL THAT MADE MY HOP SIMMER
I GRABBED THE BIRD WITHIN MY HAND
IT HURT MORE THAN I HAD PLANNED
I HELD ON DESPITE THE PAIN SO BRIGHT
BECAUSE I HAD MY BRILLIANT LIGHT
MY HANDS CLASPED AROUND IT LIKE A SECRET STASH
MY PRIZE WOULD TURN TO A PILE OF ASH
ONLY TO BE BREATHED ANEW WITH A BRIGHTER FIRE
WHICH NEVER STAYS LONG ENOUGH TO ADMIRE
MY DAILY BEAUTY IS ONLY A GLIMPSE
ITS ABSENCE EATING AT ME LIKE RAVENOUS IMPS
WHERE WOULD I BE WITHOUT MY FLAME
THE BLESSED DAY THAT IT CAME
I WAS GIVEN A SLIVER OF SUN
A BIT OF A DREAM WHICH I HAD WON.”
With that said the giant became solemn
Like a stony mountainous golem
Given breath and a life to lead
Finding himself truly in need
Of a dream and a companion to share his life
Then perhaps there would be less strife
Within the giant’s craggy mind
Spirit willing but his heart was blind
The boy stood there taking in what he heard
Focusing on the giant’s array of words
When a thought crossed his mind very clear
“How can someone like you live in such fear?”
At this the giant did murmur and grumble
“EXPLAIN YOURSELF AND DO NOT STUMBLE
I AM SO MUCH GRANDER IN SIZE
AND I SHALL NOT SUFFER YOUR HUMAN LIES
YOUR WORDS HAVE MADE THEIR STING
SO WHY WOULD YOU UTTER SUCH A THING?”
With a voice so strong the boy did speak
“Because you gave up on the dream you seek
You chased after the sun and the moon
Then you gave up much too soon
In a moment of weakness and despair
Plucked a fiery bird from the air
Thinking its light was yours to own
And finding yourself greatly alone
Keeping a phoenix in the palm of your hands
Not giving it the freedom it so demands.”
The giant gave a mighty huff
Speaking in a voice much too gruff
“TRY, TRY, TRY YOU MIGHT
I SEE YOUR TRICK TO STEAL MY LIGHT
CONFUSE ME WITH WORDS THAT RING TRUE
I’VE HAD RATHER ENOUGH OF YOU
TAKE MY MERCY AND LEAVE THIS LAND
I HAVE HAD ALL I CAN STAND.”
Courageously the boy did press
Showing not the faintest bit of distress
“Tell me to go all you please
That will not put you at ease
An uncaptured dream will eat at your heart
At the very end as it did from the start
Your glimpse of light is oh so brief
Not nearly enough to bring you relief
You’ll never be happy with a bird of ash
Being reborn to die and bring pain like a lash
You cannot give up on what you love
Even when push comes to shove
What is stopping you from reaching for the moon and sun
What is keeping you from what you wish won
Cast off the shackles of dread and fear
Bring yourself the visions you hold so dear.”
The giant gave an exasperated groan
Body surrendering more than he wished shown
Hunkering down with a bit of strain
The giant made himself level with the plain
Then it blinked a mighty big blink
As it started to ponder and think
“PERHAPS YOU ARE RIGHT
MY HEART IS FILLED WITH SUCH PLIGHT
SUCH A TINY FLAME DOES LITTLE TO SPARK
THE PAIN SO DEEP AND COLORED SO DARK
I LONG FOR MORE THAN THIS BIRD GIVE
IN THE PROCESS I HAVE NOT LET IT LIVE
LIFE IS UNBOUND AND IT’S FREE
I AM A SLAVE THIS BIRD AND IT IS A SLAVE TO ME.”
With that the giant lowered its hand
In front of where the boy did stand
He opened his hands, fingers open did swing
And the mighty Phoenix did spread his great wings
It’s feathers burned, burn so bright
Like a thousand rays of brilliant sunlight
The boy had to shield his eyes
From the flames was surely did fly
The Phoenix walked out, eyeing the boy
Cautiously as if expecting some ploy
The giant retracted his hand
Leaving the Phoenix where it stand
The bird sidled close to the boy with fear
But the boy did not falter as it came near
” I SHALL MISS MY FLAMING BIRD
BUT I FIND MY DREAMS LESS ABSURD
I WILL STRIVE FOR BETTER, STRIVE FOR MORE
I WILL REACH HIGHER UNTIL MY SPIRIT WEAK AND BODY SORE
NEVER WILL I GIVE UP ON MY DREAM
EVEN WHEN THINGS APPEAR MORE HELPLESS THAN THEY SEEM
THE SUN AND THE MOON WILL BE MINE YET
FOR HELP ME SEE THE LIGHT I AM FOREVER IN YOUR DEBT
I WISH FOR YOU THE VERY BEST AS YOU PROCEED UPON YOUR QUEST
COME BACK IF YOU WISH, IF YOU SHOULD NEED
HELP FROM SOMEONE OF MY BREED
THANK YOU AGAIN FOR ALL YOUR DONE
NOW EXCUSE ME WHILE I CHASE THE SUN.”
Then the boy thought he glimpsed under the dirt and stone
On the giant a smile which beamed and shone
As bright as the sun and the moon
The boy hoped the giant with reach his goal soon
As the stone giant resumed his quest
The boy was left with no moment to rest
Not with the Phoenix standing so near
The key to his dreams standing right there
It stood feet away, it’s flames beginning crack
Then the boy realized there was no turning back
Not if he was to meet the girl of his dream
And make more of this life than it did seem
He braced himself, fierce and strong
For the girl who shared his heart’s song
With a coo the Phoenix craned its head
Its feelings wishing to be read
Offering its surrender for a job well done
No longer made to be the giant’s sun
Stepped up with a regal bow
Leaving the boy to wonder what to do now
The flame still sizzling and burning
The boy found himself yearning
For the fiery plumage on the bird’s behind
Blazing so bright one could go blind
Spirit and mind the boy did brace
As he ran his hands down the bird’s spine at a ginger pace
The flames they did lick and bite
And the boy was left with quite a fright
Mercy the flames sure did lack
Bit by bit his hand turned black
Searing pain with coursing through his skin
The deathly feeling worse than sin
Yet he continued on until he reached the end
To the fire feather the bird would lend
He plucked the feather with much strain
Black Hand screaming with so much pain
With the feather he did retrieve
The Phoenix did take its leave
It beat its wings with a flap of might
And just like that beast took its flight
Soaring into the bright blue sky
Rising, rising ever so high
Becoming a brilliant miniature Sun
The boy looked down at the prize he’d won
The flaming feather resided in his clutch
The pain he was bearing was ever so much
With a feather in hand the final task was complete
But the boy found it hard to stand on his feet
Swaying from the dizzying feel
Wondering if his hand would ever heal
At the feather remained ablaze
In the boy’s hand, his mind began to haze
Pain shooting to the back of his mind
In his eyes he was nearly blind
He staggered and rocked back on his heel
From his throat he did squeal
The name of his great steed Quick
Then he fell to the ground like a busted stick that’s fine
Around the boy the world went dark
Everything seemed to grow rather stark
Deep within his pain induced unconsciousness
He was thrust into a world of distress

Leave a Reply

