Wednesday Writing Quote

image

I tried to find a quote to better mirror how I’ve been feeling and what’s been running through my mind for awhile now. Surely the right phrase is out there writeous ones. Perhaps I will find it when I’m better suited to handle the right words.
I think I may have depression.
For the longest time I’ve told myself that I’m just going through a rough patch. Heck I’ve even romanticized the “put upon writer” character. Lately though I know it’s more than that. It’s not like I don’t have things to be depressed about; life, job, illness, etc etc. These things have been and will be there. The thoughts of closing the chapter on my story before my time are the most troubling. And these thoughts will come out of nowhere.
This happened many times growing up as well. The feeling of needing to isolate myself, those voices telling me how worthless I am. They would come and go with no explanation. Back then I didn’t understand it, but now I know what it could be. I know there are treatments, options.
I’m writing this because I’ve seen all the research which boils down to creative people are much more likely to suffer from mental illness. That means as I may be struggling, some of you are as well. The first step is identifying your symptoms. Next seek treatment. Don’t be afraid to seek help. Your mental health is important. You. Are. Important. Please don’t wait until it’s too late to do anything to help yourself.
Until next time have a writeous and healthy day.

Leave a Reply

