The Witch’s Memory (revisited) part eleven

Jaspeak launched the crackling flame
Then shielded her eyes from the light which came
From the fiery orb burning bright as the sun
Once it was launched it couldn’t be undone
The stone wolves howled out in pain
To the moon which had started to wane
They scampered back to the depths of shadows
To await their turn for another go
Jaspeak looked up past the trees
Begging and hoping please
For the moon to be pinned in the center of the sky
Although she wished, she knew it a lie
It had shuffled off to the side as if slowly toppled from a throne
Though grateful to be alive she uttered a groan
The Luna Blossom began to sag
A deep resentment started to nag
At her heartstrings for the loss
Of the magic ingredient that was now her cost
She glared at the man as he pulled himself from the ground
Controlling a fury inside where she wanted to pound
The man into tiny microbes of dust
But calm herself she must
Because that is how her father would want it
Though he wished to teach the man to regret
Stumbling upon her that very night
Under the waning moonlight
“Are you a simpleton?” Jaspeak spat
“Do you have any idea where you are at
Monsters live in this wood more fearsome than those
And all of them can see you in those hideous clothes
A walking target is what you are
You’re fortunate to walk out of this with nary a scar
The man stretched then dusted himself off
And then he gave a very sarcastic cough
“You’re welcome.” Is all he said
Then Jaspeak saw nothing but red
“You dare to seek thanks for what you did?”
Jaspeak bellowed ready to flip her lid
“I saved you from being ate
And I did it not a moment too late
My thanks for you not being food
Is for you to be prickly and quite rude
You can see what it is I can do
Now reveal yourself before I do worse to you.”
Then the man let loose a sigh
And the scarf he began to untie
As the fabric fell to the wayside
She saw what it was he wished to hide
Not a man but a boy her age
Whose eyes were a brilliant shade of sage
He was handsome for lack of a more suitable word
The feelings stirring inside her were absurd
Countless boys sought her dainty hand
And she found them all crude and bland
This boy however caught her off guard
Still there was failed magic to regard
“You ruined my experiment I hope you know
Do you have an ounce of remorse to show?”
The boy combed his fingers through his wild brown hair
“To be, my lady, honestly fair
It’s your life I do believe I came to save
Keeping you from an early grave
I saw those wolves from a mile away
And you in the dark like you were ready to play
So I took it upon myself to do what I can
Then I came up with an ingenious plan
To shoot an arrow and make it true
All in an effort to rescue you.”
At this Jaspeak did scoff
Rolling her eyes and jutting her head aloft
“I didn’t need any of your rescue
I am quite fine and well to do
It seems we’ve come to an impasse
So tell me your name at last.”
He brushed off his clothes with the back of his hand
“I go by the name Roland
From a kingdom a ways aways
A journey by foot rounding about four days
The kingdom is called Udonvalle
My father works the majesty’s jail
My mother passed away last winter
Every fallen snowflake makes me miss her
I myself am the apprentice of a smith
A patient man who is very forthwith
I am learning the craft at lightning pace
Building weaponry for a swordsman with grace
It is a craft where I can mature
Making quite certain my future is secure.”
Jaspeak gave a quizzical gaze
As if losing herself in a distant haze
She wondered after this strange boy
The one who now seemed devoid of joy
Jaspeak stood letting the moment linger
A wind coming in as fierce as winter

Leave a Reply

