You Matter 

*Sorry for not having a new piece for The Witch’s Memory up here yet. Life and whatnot have gotten in the way. Next week the next part will be up. In the meanwhile here is a post I did for Thinkingthroughourfingers.com recently. It may explain the lack of production and hopefully help you if you need it. Until next time stay writeous Inkslayers! *

“Death must be so beautiful. To lie in the soft brown earth, with the grasses waving above one’s head, and listen to silence. To have no yesterday, and no to-morrow. To forget time, to forgive life, to be at peace.”

-Sylvia Plath

This post doesn’t bring me pleasure, but it’s one I should have written a while ago. There’s many reports that link creativity to mental health issues. Writers take the brunt of it with nearly 40% being linked to depression and bipolar disorder. With these numbers it’s easy to romanticize the craft and mental health disorders.

“If I don’t write to empty my mind, I go mad.” -Lord Byron

Sylvia Plath, Virginia Woolf, Kurt Vonnegut, Ernest Hemingway, Edgar Allan Poe are but a handful of writers who suffered mental illness only to pay the ultimate price of suicide. It’s tragic and sudden. It’s something I struggle with, and may have passed down to my kids. As I’m writing this I’m about to go to a psychiatric hospital to see one of my kids.

You don’t have to struggle with mental illness for your craft. It’s not worth it. Take care of yourself because you deserve it. Here are a few things that can help.

Don’t romanticize it.

I’ve had the thought a few times of ‘if I get help I’ll lose what makes me me.’ Your passion means nothing if you’re not here. You are more important than the ink in the pages.

There’s no shame in mental illness.

Nearly one in five American adults (18.2% of the population) have some sort of mental health problem. There are medications and treatments to help. You are not alone in your struggle.

Don’t believe that no one cares.

I do. We do. Plenty of people do.

Don’t keep it to yourself.

I’m guilty of this myself. It’s easy to create a mask you allow others to see. One that says everything is fine when you know that is not. Share what you are struggling with. Be open. Let someone help.

You are not a burden.

You matter.

Don’t let a treatable illness win.

Call 1-800-273-8255 to reach the National Suicide Prevention Lifeline 1-800-273-TALK(8255) | suicidepreventionlifeline.org

2 thoughts on “You Matter 

  1. This was so moving. Thank you so much for sharing this. I 100% agree that oftentimes mental health issues are romanticized when it comes to prolific writers or artists.

    I too have struggled a great deal with depression, anxiety, and anorexia, and it is so tough to have the courage to be open about it. You are right, it is so easy to create a mask — that’s a perfect word for it.

    The mask analogy reminds me of one time when I was going through a severe bout with depression. I’ll never forget one day one of my coworkers looked at me, smiled, and said, “You have the biggest smile I’ve ever seen. You just look like a genuinely happy person who is never sad.” He meant it as a compliment, which is how I graciously took it, but knowing that what he was seeing was a mask made me realize how I had inadvertently made the mask so life-like that it was fooling people.

    Thank you again for sharing this.

    Liked by 1 person

    • I’ve had plenty of conversations with people who assume nothing goes wrong with me. My mask game is strong. Lol It’s not something I’m proud of but it’s something I’m still working on not having any need for. Well, besides work. I need like two masks to deal with certain people. Lol

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

