The Witch’s Memory part fifty three

​A cool finger brushed her hair

Careful not to wake her with a scare

Throughout his life Roland was not one for tears

It was unbecoming of someone of his years

Now tears flowed free of their cage

Afraid to turn this life’s page

“My dearest daughter” King Roland cried

“I could not save you as hard as I tried

Death comes for me this very night

At the time I thought my decision right

A kingdom toll left unpaid

From a deserved curse so long laid

In my haste to make sure you did not pay for my folly

My lineage was still enough to sully

Your gentle soul throughout time

Although you have committed no crime

Of your forgiveness I’m not deserving

Our bloodline is a dark, black thing

Leave a Reply

